CONSTRUCT runs annual Awards for its members, recognising excellence, capability and inventiveness in concrete construction.

The Awards cover a wide spectrum of activities associated with structural concrete. Previous winners have won because of new techniques overcoming specific challenges, innovative products and approaches that contribute to concrete construction, or the sheer scale of the projects delivered.

CONSTRUCT Award Categories:

  • CONSTRUCT Award for a Project Over £2.5m
  • CONSTRUCT Award for a Project Under £2.5m
  • CONSTRUCT Award for Health and Safety
  • CONSTRUCT Award for the Unsung Hero
  • CONSTRUCT Award for Young Achiever

Click below to view who the finalists and winners of the CONSTRUCT Awards 2019.

Award Winners 2019

Unsung Hero

Dave Heneghan, Senior Construction Manager of A J Morrisroe & Sons won Unsung Hero Award


Health & Safety

J P Dunn Construction won the Health & Safety Award for their Deck Box


Projects under £2.5m

Oliver Connell & Son won the Projects under £2.5m for their project Royal College of Pathologists


Projects over £2.5m

Careys Civil Engineering won the Projects over £2.5m for their Principals Tower project

Young Achiever

Macauley Stock, Junior Quantity Surveyor of Southern Concrete won the Young Achiever Award


Winners throughout the Years

Unsung Hero

2016 – Warren Stafford, Highly Commended, On-Site Logistics Co-ordinator of M Anderson Construction Ltd (joint winner)

2016 – Steve Cashin, Winner, Site Manager of J P Dunn Construction Ltd (joint winner)

2017 – Steven May, Winner, Senior Site Manager of Anderson Group

2018 – Michelle Branch, Payroll Controller of Anderson Group

Projects under £2.5m

2016 – Tarmac, Dancourt Office Redevelopment at The Villings, Bristol

2017 – Getjar, Royal Academy of Arts, Burlington Gardens, Mayfair

2018 – Oliver Connell & Son, Weston Street, London

Projects over £2.5m

2016 – Modebest Builders Ltd, Thames Tideway Tunnels at Abbey Mills Shaft F

2017 – Laing O’Rourke Construction Ltd, Two Fifty One Project, London

2018 – A J Morrisroe & Sons, Tottenham Hotspur Football Club, London

Health & Safety

2011 – Expanded Ltd for their visual tasks sheets

2012 – Parkstone Group Ltd for their Point of Work risk assessments

2013 – Parkstone Group for their Permit Holders, All Parkstone Group Sites

2014 – Hilti (GB) Ltd for their combining dust removal systems in its equipment (joint winner)

2014 – AJ Morrisroe & Sons Ltd for their V-Rams, short videos to assist with communication to a multi-lingual workforce (joint winner)

2015 – AJ Morrisroe & Sons Ltd for their Black Hat Engineering Workshop (B-HEW), a specific training workshop for site managers and supervisors

2016 – Mitchellson Formwork & Civil Engineering Ltd for their Mobile Hanging Adjustable Platform MHAP at King’s Cross R7 (joint winner)

2016 – A J Morrisroe & Sons Ltd for their The Virtual Induction at all Morrisroe sites (joint winner)

2017 – Temporary Floor Protection for their Voidex Temporary Manhole Cover used on site manhole voids

2018 – A J Morrisroe & Sons for their Morrisroe Stand Downs

Young Achiever

2016 – George Langdown, Assistant Project Manager of Byrne Bros (Formwork) Ltd (joint winner)

2016 – Huw Llewellyn, Formwork Designer of PERI Ltd (joint winner)

2017 – Tom Guy, Trainee QS/Manager of Anderson Group

2018 – Alexander Puricelli, Formwork Apprentice of A J Morrisroe & Sons

Design, Process & Concrete Construction

2011 – Expanded Ltd at Oasis Media City for off-site manufacturing capabilities

2012 – Byrne Bros (Formwork) Ltd for The Shard of Glass, London Bridge

2013 – Macrete Ireland Ltd/Queen’s University, Belfast for Strengthening Jubilee Bridge, Greater Manchester

2014 – Freyssinet (UK) Ltd for Extended life of Hammersmith Flyover through post tensioning system

2015 – UnPS Ltd for Lee Tunnell – Secondary Tunnel lining : use of Smart ShellTM

Materials & Products

2011 – Anchor Bay Construction Products for Trackspacer

2012 – Anchor Bay Construction Products Ltd for Reinforcement Safety Strip, Bethnal Green Block B

2013 – Ancon Building Products for Ancon KSN Amchor System, New Alder Hey Hospital, Liverpool

2014 – David Ball Group Plc Cemfree for an activator which facilitates production of concrete without use of Portland cement

2015 – Ischebeck Tital Ltd for Screen Saver for One Blackfriars, a perimiter climbing screen system

Past Winners

2000 – Woolton Construction at 30 Brompton Square, Knightsbridge, London for consistent production and effective use of self-compacting concrete

2001 – O’Rourke Group for DS5 Citigroup Tower, Canary Wharf, London for self-climbing jumpform system

2002 – Whitby Bird & Partners at 40 Grosvenor Place, London for the use of precast concrete backing panels as loadbearing elements, removing the need for internal shear walls

2003 – Laing O’Rourke at Tower Place, London, E1 for temporary works design and buildability

2004 – Imperial College and the Construction Industry Training Board Constructionarium, National Construction Centre, Norfolk for practical experience of construction for Higher Education students

2005 – Stephenson Ltd with BRE St George (South London) and White Young Green for St George Wharf, London for speed and efficiency through increased understanding of concrete frames

2006 – Stephenson Ltd at Sheffield University Learning Resource Centre & Library for biaxial void forming for weight and CO2 reduction

2007 – Peri Formwork for rail climbing systems using innovative climbing shoe

2008 – John Doyle Construction at More London 7 for twin wall Rybrid RC cores

2009 – Lagan Construction Ltd, WDR & RT Taggart and Macrete Ltd at Queen’s University Belfast for FlexiArch

2010 – Stanhope plc, Arup and Expanded at Chiswick Park for greening post-tensioned concrete